Throughout the course of this semester, I will be constructing a website that will showcase my work as a sound effect artist. This craft is known as Foley, named after Jack Foley a revolutionary sound effect artist from the 1930’s. In today’s age, as a Foley artist it is essential to have some sort of portfolio to display your abilities to future employers. Most people however, lack a personal website to do so. I intend to take full advantage of this opportunity by placing my Foley work online for the world to see.

Additionally, my website will also serve as a place where people can send me their work that they need to be matched with Foley. Ideally, a user could request for one particular sound, or send me their an entire project. In doing so. I hope to land a few job opportunities that I would not have had otherwise.

As Foley artist, I know that there is an almost infinite spectrum of sounds that are needed for movies, television shows and video games. Because of this, I will create eight separate categories for specific sounds and expand upon each category as the website evolves. The categories I plan on including are; weaponry, footsteps, mechanical sounds, human noises, weather, conceptual, comical, body damage.  

As far as the layout and design of my website goes, I intend to make my website as simplistic and pleasing to the eyes as possible. I picture my website being primarily based off of just one page. I will have a banner at the top filled with a mission statement and my contact info. Below that I will include eight large boxes filled with a distinct color, image and title displaying each of my sound categories. By placing all of my sounds inside these categories within separate pages, I hope to create a clutter free homepage and website that utilizes as much white space as possible. 

I want my website to have a very professional feel to it. However, I would like visitors to get the sense that I am a creative soul who does not always stick to formalities. With this in mind, my font choice is very important. I think it is best if I try to find a font style that utilizes curves and has few hard edges or lines. Yet, I want to completely avoid a cartoonish type feeling.

In the past few weeks I have come across a few website have undoubtedly influenced my plans for the design of my website. For example, the site audionetwork.com is an existing sound library that is extremely minimalistic. The use of whitespace is apparent and there are only two colors throughout the whole website. Additionally, this site chose to separate their sound into 15 separate sound categories. Another influential website to the design of my own is pixelumbrella.com. This site is a portfolio for a web designer and is exactly how intend to make my portfolio. The Third site I would like to mention is, Typographica.org. They’re banner is something that I’d like to emulate. It grabs the eyes right away.  

http://www.audionetwork.com/sound-effects

http://www.pixelumbrella.com/

http://typographica.org/

Steph
11/2/2013 10:47:10 am

You have a clear inspiration for the site.

missing external links (need to be live), images, and class sources

Reply



Leave a Reply.